Sunday, September 12, 2010

March 2nd 2008--right after my 2nd 10k race in Seoul

Today I finished my 2nd ever 10K. This is actually the 4th race I've entered in Seoul, not counting the 5k's on post. I ran it in 1:05. I wanted to finish in under and hour--59:59 would have been great but it just wasn't in the cards for me. What pisses me off is I am my own worst enemy. I walked a portion of this race too and I know if I hadn't done that I probably could have made the under hour mark. I guess I should just be proud I finished it and I did as well as I did since 3 years ago this fat ass wouldn't have been running around the block! :-) It did snow some during the race, but for the most part, it was comfortable. Not too cold as long as you were running and it wasn't pouring rain like last year so I was happy. I was a bit sad to see about 1/2 the people there--the past two years this particular race has been much larger!
My mom was here and is gone. We had a nice visit but it just seemed different this time. She seemed to have been in a funk the entire time she was here--I think it had to do with her husband being in Africa and her not being able to talk to him. I understand it's hard, especially when you miss someone, but I say buck up--Chris used to be gone MONTHS at a time and I NEVER knew IF or WHEN I'd hear from him and when we return to the states it will be the same. You just have to go on with life. It's ok to be sad and to miss them, but don't let it ruin your entire day. Ok. I'm not saying we had a bad time, it was just different from her normal visits here and my visits back home.
The boys were thrilled to death to see her, especially Gunnar. Linc took some time warming up to her but did right away. When we were coming back in to Seoul from taking my mom to the airport, Gunnar saw Namsan Tower and said, "We forgot to take Nana to Tower Mountain. That makes me sad..." It made me sad too. He focuses on the funniest things.
Gunnar got sick mom's first day here and that really sucked. He and Chris had a 24 hour bug--well Gunnar's was more of a 3 day bug but the puking only lasted 24 hours. The 2nd night he was sick he told me that his beaver was gone. I couldn't figure out for the life of me what he was talking about until he said, "I feel better cause my beaver is gone." Turns out he was calling his fever a beaver. Too cute. There was another point where I couldn't get the thermometer to work properly and I said, "Gunnar you must be dead!" He started crying and said, "Mommy, I don't want to be dead!" It was so sweet and sad--he took me literally.
When it rains it pours. I found out this week that another one of my dearest friends her is leaving early--like April 1st early. I keep hoping it's some sort of sick April Fool's joke but it doesn't look like it. So within a week I am losing two of my dearest friends.
March is going to be full of going away parties. I guess that just gives us more excuses to go to Manila, not that we need anymore.
Went to Manila on Friday (again). I wanted to take mom but she wasn't feeling well so she stayed at home with the kids. We had a grand time and I'll have to get the pictures posted from it! When I got home, mom was up and she said she couldn't believe I stayed out that late. Well, believe it Momma! I have just over 4 months left to enjoy all of this and I'm maxing it out!
This is going to be a crazy week. I have a lot going on and am having a hard time finding babysitters. Chris is still gone until sometime on Saturday and then leaves again in less than a week. I'm going to go broke on babysitters this month! :-)

No comments:

Post a Comment